Saskatchewan.—The Department of Public Health has been organized since 1923 under a Minister and a Deputy Minister and consists of 14 Divisions: (1) The Division of Administration co-ordinates the activities of the Department as a (2) The Division of Public Health Nursing conducts a generalized program which includes all phases of public-health nursing; infant and maternal welfare. school work, venereal disease epidemiology, etc. This Division also supervises maternity grants and nursing homes. (3) The Division of Communicable Diseases administers provisions of the Public Health Act relating to control of communicable diseases and regulations relating thereto as follows: (a) prevention, notification and control; (b) prepared morbidity and mortality tables; (c) makes investigations: (d) enforces isolation and quarantine; (e) traces disease carriers. It distributes free vaccines and sera to doctors and hospitals, supervises anterior poliomyelitis clinics. supervises boards of health and medical health officers, supervises medical examination of food handlers, burial, disinterment and transportation of the dead and promotes immunization programs. (4) The Division of Sanitation has supervision of water-works, sewerage systems and drainage; food supplies including milk; urban and rural sanitation. (5) The Division of Laboratories does routine public-health work in bacteriology, serology, chemistry and pathology and provides clinical diagnostic laboratory service for rural physicians. (6) The Division of Vital Statistics administers the Vital Statistics Act and the Marriage Act. (7) The Division of Mental Services administers the Mental Hygiene Act. Its duties and responsibilities include the transportation and admission of patients to mental hospital; the care and treatment of patients in institutions for the mentally ill and mental defectives, and in the psychopathic ward in Regina. The division will develop and supervise mental hygiene clinics in connection with the preventive work of mental hygiene. The care and maintenance of patients in provincial institutions is at the expense of the Province. (8) The Division of Venereal Disease Control administers a program for the control of venereal disease, which is divided into the following functional sections: diagnostic and treatment services; epidemiology; and education. (9) The Division of Hospital Administration is responsible for all matters pertaining to hospital administration and all approved hospitals of the Province are under (10) The Division of Health Education conducts a wide program its supervision. of education for the purpose of modifying public opinion and attitudes in favour of higher standards of personal and community health. (11) The Division of Nutrition is largely educational in function, creating interest in better food habits; emphasis is placed on nutrition of children with special attention to school lunches. (12) The Division of Medical Services supervises payment of grants to physicians, dentists and approved hospitals for adequate medical services to needy residents in any part of the Province outside municipal jurisdiction, including a group known as "northern settlers". Insulin is supplied free to diabetics who are unable to purchase it. Jan. 1, 1945, the Health Services Act came into effect, and its administration is partly under this Division. Medical, hospital and drug services are provided to old age and blind pensioners and their dependents, and to recipients of mothers' allowances and their children at the expense of the Province. Approximately 24,700 persons receive benefits under this Act. (13) The Division of Physical Fitness and Recreation stimulates, organizes and assists social, cultural and athletic